Tue, 26 Oct 2021

Lynx's Sylvia Fowles wins fourth Defensive Player of the Year award

Field Level Media
27 Sep 2021, 03:19 GMT+10

Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles was named the Defensive Player of the Year by the WNBA for the fourth time in her career on Sunday.

Fowles ran away with the voting, earning 31 of 49 votes. Los Angeles Sparks guard Brittney Sykes was the runner-up with six votes.

In becoming just the second player in WNBA history to win the award four times, Fowles now trails only five-time winner Tamika Catchings.

Fowles, who turns 36 in October, averaged 10.1 rebounds, 1.8 steals and 1.8 blocks for the Lynx this season. She also scored 16.0 points per game to help Minnesota to a 22-10 record and a first-round bye in the playoffs.

Minnesota has its first playoff game on Sunday night at home against the Chicago Sky in a single-elimination game.

The Lynx are shooting for a league-record fifth championship.

Fowles, the league MVP in 2017, also won the award in 2016, 2013 and 2011.

--Field Level Media

More Chicago News

Access More

Sign up for Chicago News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!